Montana Part 3

Zip lining was on the agenda for day three in Montana. And I have to say I was a little nervous about it. More nervous than I was about jumping out of a plane. This may seem funny but with skydiving I wasn’t really responsible for doing anything except holding my head back and screaming. The latter I did quit well I must say. But I didn’t really know what to expect with zip lining over 400ft drops, at pretty high speeds, down a mountain. But it wasn’t going to stop me.
We got to the Whitefish ski lodge and I was signed in, weighed, given a harness to wrangle into and told to pick out a helmet. Then a safety video was watched (already way more instruction than skydiving) and we headed out to the first zip. The bunny slope if you will. About 100ft long and not high at all. Cassandra, my new friend who also luckily works at The Great Northern Brewery, and I paired up since two zipped at a time and we were off and I was hooked. Ready to go higher and faster and longer. There were 7 lines in all. The highest was 400ft over a valley and the longest was 1900ft. There were poses like the starfish to slow yourself down and the pencil (my favorite) to speed up and go as fast as you could down the line. Also going on that day was production of a promotional video for the mountain. So if I make it into the promo video I will definitely post that too. Thank you Andy and Jesse for such a great day.

20120714-140035.jpg

20120714-141620.jpg

20120714-140044.jpg

“bunny slope”

20120714-140314.jpg

I know I make it look good 🙂

20120714-140323.jpg

After the excitement of that it was time to feed this girl. Cassandra mentioned a “western Mexican” restaurant and since she is from San Diego I trusted her judgement on Mexican food above an unseen line that crosses this great country. (I have been told that there is a great Mexican place in Charleston that I need to try as well and someday I will. As I trust all the food I have tried in Chas and the giver of this advise). And I have to say Pascado Blanco did not disappoint. The Elk Chorizo and fish tacos (my weakness) were delicious as was the amazing tangerine, carrot and habanero hot sauce. Trust me…it was delicious!

20120714-140106.jpg

20120714-141407.jpg

20120714-141455.jpg

And of course I wanted some dessert so it was back to a new favorite place, Loula’s, for some Bread Pudding with whiskey sauce and coffee.

20120714-140134.jpg

It was a good day and I am very thankful that I have a dad who loves me and had it all planned out for me before I even got off the plane. And to top off the day we found a local distillery, started by some North Carolina boys, where they make some pretty strong drink in the Montana mountains. And they had recently purchased what every distillery needs…a Yak.

20120714-140056.jpg

More soon…

Leave a Reply

