Wild Texas Plum Jelly

I can’t begin to say how good this jelly is.  I love plum jelly but I REALLY loved this one.  I was lucky enough to have two plum trees that were ripe and full of plums. I could have all I wanted to come and pick.  And I am very grateful.

 

Wild Texas Plum Jelly

 

Igredients:

5 pds plums
4 cups of water
1 packet of Pectin (1.75 oz)
7 cups of sugar

1. Place plums and water in a large stockpot and bring to a boil.
2. Once boiling reduce heat to simmer.
3. Allow to simmer for 30 mins.
4. Line a strainer with 4 layers of cheesecloth.
5. Place plum mixture in strainer for 30 mins or until there is 5 1/2 cups of liquid.
6. Return liquid to pan.
7. Add pectin to liquid and bring to a boil.
8. Add sugar and bring to a rolling boil.
9. Boil for 1 minute stirring constantly.
10. Remove from heat and skim off any foam.
11. Process as you would any jams or jellies.

Yields about 8 half-pints

 

Hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Wild Texas Plum Jelly

    1. The plums look beautiful I agree and I decided I would try one…They are so tart that ants and other insects won’t even eat them. Apparently the wild hogs around here love them though. The jelly is so good because of the tartness that is there even after all the sugar is added 🙂

Leave a Reply

